Kids Place Live

Up down

Up down

Up down

Up down yeah

Cause it will get hard

Remember life’s like a jump rope

This has become my mantra for this week. These are the lyrics that jump around in my head all day, feel free to click the link at the bottom of the post to have a listen. And no, this song is not by Nicki Minaj, Flo Rida or Drake. These are lyrics by Blue October. Now where would a chocolate mother hear this type of song? I’ll tell you where; Kids Place Live, Sirius Satellite Radio channel 78. That’s right, my children have even influenced my music selections and to be honest I even catch myself listening when they are not around.

Pre-children you would’ve found the latest R&B artist in my CD player, Mary J. Blige, Jill Scott and India Arie were on serious rotation. I was never into hardcore rap, but I did tune in to the hottest stations to at least keep up with the latest jams. Wow, do they even call them jams any more? Probably not. My husband gave up on music lyrics years ago. His first transition was to Gospel Rap and now he’s a bonafide talk radio junky. I’m still not ready for that although I must say Rev. Al Sharpton, Warren Ballentine and GW on the Hill do a great job of putting the kids to sleep when daddy’s driving.

Music is not only good for the soul, but it’s a pretty good reflection of where we are in life. What’s important to us, what we value and as we evolve, so does our choice of music. In high school, I was a B-52s, Love Shack type of girl. But my life was different and so was the era. I wasn’t “privy” to BET, it wasn’t offered as a television option where I grew up. So I listened to what my friends listened to. From Bon Jovi and Guns n Roses to Billy Ocean and Wham, I knew the lyrics or at least I thought I did.

But no matter the genre, I was always attracted to positive lyrics and upbeat tempos. I played the flute and later the tenor saxophone. I was in Marching Band, Jazz Band and Orchestra and I loved it all.

I’m not saying my children have to play instruments like me and their daddy did, but I would like them to learn to appreciate all that music has to offer.

Don’t matter where you come from
Don’t even matter what you are
A dog, a pig, a cow, a goat
Had ’em all in here (we had ’em all in here)

No, that’s not an oldie but goodie, that’s Princess and the Frog, Mama Odie and that too is a Kids Place Live special. I believe what you listen to, penetrates your soul.  So yes, I like listening to positive music, and I like knowing what my children find entertaining. I personally don’t think it’s cute for toddlers to know all the words to negative songs and can’t spell their name or count to ten.

Having said that, I do not believe that gangsta rap is responsible for youngsters committing crimes. Just as I don’t believe heavy metal music is responsible for young atheists. But I do believe that negative thoughts and images are perpetuated through the things we hear and see. So yes, my car is locked on a Kids Place Live and my television has two stations, Nick Jr. and CNN. The later is for me, how else would I know what’s going on outside of pre-school.

Jump Rope

One thought on “Kids Place Live

Leave a Reply

